I think this as my best read-a-thon yet! Starting the day off with an easier read pumped me for the rest of the day; I highly recommend doing this next time. Yes, I had to take breaks to work on final papers, Skype with my parents, and see friends, but I was motivated to use my reading time wisely throughout the day.

I read 910 pages and finished three books in roughly nine hours of reading. I finished America the Vulnerable by Joel Brenner, Naked Heat by Richard Castle, and No One is Here Except All of Us by Ramona Ausubel. Brenner’s book is assigned reading for a class and Ausubel’s was an ARC I received back in January so I’m thrilled that I managed to finish both books. I also made some headway into three other books on my TBR pile by reading 58 pages of The City and the City by China Miéville, 45 pages of Comeback America by David M. Walker, and 75 pages of Heat Rises by Richard Castle. I did have high hopes of making a sizable dent into Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, but I waited entirely too long in the day to start the book and couldn’t get past page 8.

This time, the read-a-thon was all about my reading so I did very little blog hopping. I will return all the comments and cheers I’ve received from blogging friends and new-to-me bloggers later this week. Promise.

It’s tradition to end the ‘thon with an ending survey. I’ve answered the End of Event Meme below as well as provided a better summary of what I accomplished. I urge you to check out my master update post for more information

Summary:

  • I read 910 pages.
  • I finished three books.
  • I started three more books.
  • I read for 9 hours.
  • I cheered for 6 blogs.
  • I completed 2 memes and 0 mini-challenges.

End of Event Meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 16! I had just gotten off Skype with my parents and wasn’t in the mood to do anything.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Richard Castle’s Nikki Heat series is my brain candy (just like the show). I don’t think I would have read anything for the last two hours if I didn’t switch to Heat Rises.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? There didn’t seem to be as much energy this time around. Maybe because most of the people I follow weren’t participating? I don’t know; it just seemed like participation – and therefore enthusiasm – was down across the board.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?I really liked all the gifs posted on the Readathon website. I don’t normally watch videos (too distracting) but the gifs have me cracking up every time I clicked over the blog.
  5. How many books did you read? I read three books and started three more.
  6. What were the names of the books you read?
    • America the Vulnerable (Joel Brenner) — Finished!
    • The City and the City (China Miéville) – 58/336 pages
    • Comeback America (David M. Walker) — 45/218 pages
    • Heat Rises (Richard Castle) — 75/302 pages
    • Naked Heat (Richard Castle) – Finished!
    • No One is Here Except All of Us (Ramona Ausubel) — Finished!
    • Wolf Hall (Hilary Mantel) – 8/604 pages
  1. Which book did you enjoy most? America the Vulnerable by Joel Brenner. (Yes, Virginia, you can read nonfiction during the read-a-thon and like it.)
  2. Which did you enjoy least? None. I liked them all.
  3. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Not applicable.
  4. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely. October works better with my schedule. I’ll be a reader and, hopefully, a cheerleader.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

