Let’s Read(-a-Thon)!

Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon almost snuck up on me! On Saturday, April 21, readers everywhere are invited to spend the same 24 hours reading together. Over 270 people have already signed up. My start time is 8 am but we will have to see if I make that particular start time. I usually workout and then have brunch with my friends on Saturday mornings.

If you don’t have time to participate as a reader, I hope you will consider volunteering to cheer for a few hours. The number of cheerleaders have been down over the last few read-a-thons even though cheerleaders are an integral part of the Read-a-Thon. I’m not officially signing up as a cheerleader this time largely because I am in dire need of a break from the computer, which will only serve to remind me of how many final papers I should be writing instead. I do plan on taking a few moments during my updates to cheer a few participants on. I hope you will consider doing the same!

My plan for this April’s read-a-thon is photographed above. The first book I hope to finish is No One Is Here Except All of US by Ramona Ausubel, a book I received for review back in — uh — February. I also hope to read Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel since I received the sequel for review last week. China Mieville’s The City and the City was moved up the stack after reading Eva of A Striped Armchair’s thoughts on the title. My iPad (pictured in the back) is largely included in the picture because some of my uncle’s crime thrillers, particularly Naked Heat and Heat Rises by Richard Castle, are sure to get me through the wee hours of the morning.

Last October, I realized being on duty for my RA position until 2 am the night before was not a good plan. While I will not be on duty on Friday night, I will still be on call on Saturday night and thus guaranteed to be up until Hour 19. Fingers crossed that Saturday night will be relatively calm!

7 thoughts on “Let’s Read(-a-Thon)!

  1. I’m definitely read-a-thonning (not a word) this Saturday! My start time is 8 am as well. After a couple crazy weeks of huge household projects, setting a whole day aside to read seems like such a wonderful treat. I’m so excited to just read!

    • I hope you’re able to enjoy yourself, Melissa! I wish the read-a-thon had been earlier in April simply because this is a very busy time for me school wise, but I do so need a break from writing all these final papers.

    • Oh, I’m sorry you won’t be participating Erin! This is only my third time participating as school and family obligations have prevented me from participating for a long time. I hope you’ll be able to join in again in October!

Leave a Reply

