You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 4, 2012.

Halfway through the semester and I’m just now getting around to sharing my textbooks for the semester. Told you it’s been a busy semester. Two of my classes for the semester have textbooks; two of my classes for the semester do not. I started out the semester in an additional class that required three more textbooks, but I ended up dropping the class back in February.

  • Global Human Smuggling (David Kyle and Rey Koslowski) – I read this book over the course of last week and loved it. I just didn’t have enough to say about the book for a full post, but you can read my thoughts on it over at GoodReads. So far I’m the only person on the site who has read the book.
  • Somalia: The New Barbary? (Martin N. Murphy) – I was supposed to read this book for class two weeks ago; I could never get into it and ended up shelving it. Most of my classmates did the same.
  • Global Outlaws (Carolyn Nordstrom) – Another book that I loved. I posted my thoughts on the book last week.
  • Blood on the Stone (Ian Smillie) – This will be the second book I’ve read on blood diamonds. My classmates and I were assigned an article by Smillie earlier in the semester that I had a hard time getting through so I’m a little worried about how reading this book will go.
  • Merchants of Madness (Bertil Lintner and Michael Black) – You can’t take a class on trafficking without some discussion of drugs. Lintner and Black’s book examines the “methamphetamine explosions in the Golden Triangle”.
  • Illicit Flows and Criminal Things (Willem van Schendel and Itty Abraham) – This book is a collection of articles about the worldwide circulation of people, things, and ideas. I read most of the
  • America the Vulnerable (Joel Brenner) – I was not expecting to discuss computer security in my course this semester, but I am interested to read about the issue after a visit to the International Spy Museum last spring where the museum concludes with the threat hijackers pose to America’s infrastructure.
  • Introductory Econometrics (Jeffrey M. Wooldridge) – I was quite concerned about taking econometrics this semester and, unfortunately, this book has done nothing to assuage my concern. I’ve been muddling through the chapters and struggling to understand the necessary concepts both in class and from the textbook.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Currently Reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers