These past four weeks constituted an unplanned break from book blogging. I had lined book reviews and posts through job training and the first few days of school in anticipation of needing time to adjust to a new semester. Yet almost as soon as I arrived back at school I noticed my computer began to slow down and launching any internet browser was next to impossible. Yes, my poor computer became infected with two viruses that essentially attacked the brain of my computer. I had to flatten it and reformat the whole thing. (Doing so actually took less time than trying to figure out what was wrong with my machine.) And so I fell behind in school work and thus book blogging was shifted to the side.

Things are backed to normal now, and I’m actually enjoying the semester rather than feeling stressed out all the time. Since before the beginning of the semester, I finally have time to read for pleasure! Not to say I haven’t read anything since early January; in fact, I finished five books between now and then.

  • An Amish Gathering (Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, and Barbara Cameron)
  • Behind the Beautiful Forevers (Katherine Boo)
  • Christmas at Pemberley (Regina Jeffers)
  • Global Outlaws (Carolyn Nordstrom)
  • Illicit Flows and Criminal Things (Willem van Schendel)

I’m trying to pull together thoughts on the books I have read, but it’s been so long that my memories are slightly fuzzy. I might have to do some mini-posts or skip these books all together. And it will take me a while to get back to blogging. I’m still getting caught up on school work but eventually I will be back. Just wanted to stop by and dust off the cobwebs.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

