The massive storm last week that hit New England downed trees, took out power for thousands of people in the area, and turned fall into winter in the blink of an eye. We never lost power at on campus but several of my professors did at home. Halloween trick-or-treating was postponed until this past Thursday. Classes here, though, were not cancelled and life marches on like normal.

Last month’s Read-a-Thon managed to pull me out of my reading slump. I read all but one of the books, which I abandoned, that I wanted to read in October. This month, though, I feel myself being pulled back into the slump. The middle of the semester is always the busiest and the light at the end of the tunnel isn’t very bright. I still have six and a half weeks until I head home for a much needed break. I keep telling myself I will read more then. This month I’ve signed up for a couple of bookish events and there are some books I really would like to finish by the 30th of November.

  • Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy) – I have no plans to finish the book this month. I would just like to remain caught-up with the read-a-long hosted by Wallace of Unputdownables, which means I should be at the start of Part Six by the end of the month.
  • Darcy’s Passions (Regina Jeffers) – I started this book during the Read-a-Thon and would like to finish it.
  • Every Man Dies Alone (Hans Fallada) – For German Literature Month hosted by Caroline of Beauty is a Sleeping Cat and Lizzie of Lizzie’s Literary Life. This novel was originally assigned for a class before the professor changed her mind. I would like to read it sooner rather than later.
  • The Gendarme (Mark T. Mustian) – This is my last selection for the One, Two, Theme! Challenge.
  • The Silent Angel (Henrich Böll) – For the Literature and War Read-a-Long hosted by Caroline of Beauty is a Sleeping Cat. This book also counts for German Literature Month and concludes on Saturday, November 26.
  • The Woman in White (Wilkie Collins) – I’ve wanted to read this book for quite some time now. I have the perfect excuse to pick it up now that it’s the selection for this month’s Reading Buddies hosted by Erin Reads.

A common theme in these selections? Chunksters! So I may have bitten off more than I can chew. But I have a few days off for Thanksgiving that I will spend doing a mixture of briefly visiting family in New York City, finishing homework, reading for pleasure, and relaxing. This will be a busy month but I know I am in for a real treat with these titles.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

