You are currently browsing the daily archive for September 20, 2011.

Normally I do not participate in Top Ten Tuesday but I’ve really enjoyed reading other people’s responses to this question today and thought I would offer my own. Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

If you had asked me this question back in May, my list would have included Anne of Green Gables, Little Women, The Grapes of Wrath, and The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank. Now that I’ve read all those books, though, I didn’t have a ready answer for this question of the top of my head. I guess I don’t feel like there are too many books out there I haven’t read yet.

  1. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller – This seems to be a book that most people read in high school but I decided to read Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison instead.
  2. 1984 by George Orwell – Love, love, love Animal Farm and I’m slightly afraid I won’t like his other popular novel.
  3. The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane – Another popular book assigned in high school that I missed.
  4. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger – When newspapers mourned to loss of Salinger last year after his death, I realized I had never read this novel. I still haven’t rectified this.
  5. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier – I didn’t realize how popular this novel is until I started book blogging.
  6. Something other than A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens – I’m kind of cheating because I’m currently reading A Tale of Two Cities by Dickens. But until I finish it, he will still remain on my list of books everyone has read but me.
  7. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyesky – I started and abandoned this novel much to the chagrin of several of my readers who love it. I’d like to try it again sometime but I just haven’t been in the right mood.
  8. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith – And I’m now just exposing even more holes in my high school literature classes.
  9. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins – This book made the rounds on book blogs awhile back and even jumped onto my TBR list. I was thinking about reading it next month but I honestly don’t know if I’ll have time.
  10. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn/The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain – Probably the two books I’m most embarrassed about not reading. I’ve tried listening to Huck Finn but the narrator wasn’t engaging enough to hold my attention.
September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Currently Reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers