I celebrated clearing off a large space on my two to-be-read (TBR) shelves by buying more books at the annual used book sale at my public library. Fifteen books are now relegated to the floor of my closet, and my organized-by-color shelves are now missing blue, purple, and black. Whoops! But, in my defense, any book not purchased at the book sale by 2 pm MDT today would be sent to the recyclers. Poor books! I just couldn’t leave any behind!

The first four on the left stack and the first three on the right stack (plus one not photographed) were purchased at the book sale Friday night for $2 a pop. The rest were all purchased today for $2 a bag, and they all fit into one bag. The damage:

  • Anna and the King of Siam (Margaret Landon)
  • Between the Assassinations (Aravind Adiga)
  • Birds Without Winds (Louis de Bernières)
  • The Bluest Eye (Toni Morrison)
  • The City & the City (China Miéville)
  • The Crimson Rooms (Katharine McMahon)
  • Embers (Sándor Márai)
  • Eternal on the Water (Joseph Monninger)
  • The Gendarme (Makr Mustian)
  • Half of a Yellow Sun (Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie)
  • In the Kingdom of Gorillas (Bill Weber and Amy Vedder)
  • Lady’s Maid (Margaret Forster)
  • The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
  • Obama’s Wars (Bob Woodward)
  • The Prize (Daniel Yergin)
  • The Secret History of the Pink Carnation (Lauren Willig)
  • The Singing Fire (Lilian Nattel)

Originally, I was not going to be able to attend today’s book sale as I was supposed to go on a 20-mile plus bike ride in a town about an hour from my house. However, I ended up bruising my bum pretty badly after taking a tumble during a hike yesterday and just could not stand to sit on my bike for longer than a minute. An unfortunate accident that lead to some exciting books making their way home with me. I’m especially pleased since many of the books have been on my TBR list for a long time.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on each other’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

