Sunday Salon: Post-Break

I spent the last week with very little internet access, which lead to me finishing nine books and getting halfway through Kitchen Literacy by Ann Vileisis. With several long flights I anticipated reading a couple of books here and there, but I had not anticipated running out of printed books. Good thing I had my iPad with me!

  • The Buffalo Solider (Chris Bohjalian)
  • The CAFO Reader (Daniel Imhoff)
  • Dreaming Anastasia (Joy Preble)
  • Lasso the Wind (Timothy Egan)
  • The Queen’s Fool (Philippa Gregory)
  • The Secret (Beverly Lewis)
  • Sing You Home (Jodi Picoult)
  • Snow Flower and the Secret Fan (Lisa See)
  • Somewhere to Belong (Judith Miller)

I am hoping to review all (or almost all) of the books I read over vacation but this will probably take some time. Some of the books I read were fantastic and others…not so much. I really need to stop downloading free books from Amazon. I haven’t found a single one I actually like! I also downloaded two books I paid for and read one of them — Jodi Picoult’s Sing You Home.  Picoult’s books are like my comfort food, but the tears her latest novel induced did not seem to comfort the lovely German couple I sat next to on the plane. Whoops!

Today, I have to finish a little bit of homework and then I plan to finish reading Kitchen Literacy. Jet lag, time zone changes, and daylight savings time is throwing me for a loop so I’m really not sure how productive I will actually be. I’m still in that post-break haze.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on each other’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.