You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 1, 2010.

It’s hard to fathom that at the end of the month I’ll be back at university, far away from my family, personal collection of books, and my beloved library. For the rest of the month I’m going to attempt to finish up the last of my library loot and figure out what books I want to be bring back to school with me. The airline industry is certainly squeezing out every last penny so space is at a premium. However, getting to the public library in my college town is difficult and the library on campus is sorely lacking in the fiction department.

I read sixteen books in July and abandoned an additional six. July was certainly the month of nonfiction as twelve of the books I read or attempted to read were nonfiction books. I have a couple more nonfiction books on my nightstand, but if I get sucked into Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo like my mom I might wind up reading more fiction this month. Other than that I really don’t have a plan for August.

Visited Countries:

I visited thirty countries so far this year, which means that I’ve read about 13.3% of the world. In July alone I read about Eygpt, Russia, the United Arab Emarities, Greece, Jordan, and the entirety of South-East Asia which I haven’t visited before this year. South American and African countries have not been represented in my reading so far this year nor has Australia and the Pacific.

Visited States:

Since January, I’ve visited fourteen states, or 28% of the United States. Most of them have visited through fictional books about the Amish, but nonfiction has taken me to Louisiana, Montana, and Utah recently.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

Photo © Me. Hiking with mountain goats in Glacier National Park. Taken: July 2o, 2010.
August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Currently Reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers