You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 28, 2010.

I’m having a much harder time with this year’s challenges than last year’s. I signed up for fewer challenges this year (five as compared to fifteen), but I think the combination of an additional class and volunteering has given me less time to read books so far in the year. And most of my challenges are for books I wouldn’t normally read — Brontë, the Vietnam War, nonfiction so I’m finding it harder to find books I like about those subjects. Of course, this is all preliminary whining discussion because we’re only reaching the end of the second month and I refuse to be that hard on myself.

2010 Challenges

  • All About the Brontës: Read, watch, or listen to between three to six things pertaining to the Brontë sisters. (Also known as, in which I attempt to get over my hatred/fear of Wuthering Heights.)
    • Zip. Nada. Zilch. I have read zero books for this challenge.
  • Chunkster: Four books of adult literature (fiction or nonfiction) of 450 pages or more.
    • I’ve finished one nonfiction book, The Lexus and the Olive Tree by Thomas L. Friedman, that’s pages number 512. I had been working on Centennial by James A. Michener (1,086 pages), but I accidentally left the book at home when I returned to school in the middle of January. The rest of the books I have listed are currently housed at home.
  • Vietnam War: Five books, including a read-a-long, with the Vietnam War as a primary or secondary theme.
    • I haven’t read any books for this challenge either, but I did get in the mood by reading “How to Tell a True War Story” a short story by Tim O’Brien, author of The Things They Carried.
  • What’s in a Name?: Six books that include a certain characteristic – food, body of water, title (queen, president), plant, place name, and music term.
  • World Religion: Read something about all five of the major world religions (Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, and Judaism) plus more books about anything from Shintoism to Wicca, from Scientology to Comparative Religion.

Complete Works Of

  • Jane Austen: Completed and uncompleted novels, short stories, and Juvenilia.
  • James A. Michener: Since I consider Centennial to be one of favorite books ever, I should move on to more of Michener’s fiction, don’t you think?
    • As I stated above, I had been working on Centennial by James A. Michener (1,086 pages), but I accidentally left the book at home when I returned to school in the middle of January.
  • Jodi Picoult: Not only would I like to read the three two novels I have yet to read, I would also like to re-read every novel she’s pinned.
    • I haven’t made any more progress on this one, but Second Glance is my airplane book for London.

Perpetual & Personal

  • AP Literature: There have been 298 books referred to on the AP Literature Exam since 1971. I would like to read them all.
    • I’ve read two new books off the AP Literature Exam since January 1, 2010.

I’m headed to London on Friday for Spring Break, which I’m very, very excited about. I doubt I’ll get much reading done, but I certainly will be putting those guidebooks to good use.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on one another’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Archives

Currently Reading

Popular Posts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers