The Girl She Used to Be by David Cristofano

Girl She Used to BeWhen I snatched The Girl She Used to Be off the shelf at the library on a whim I wasn’t sure what to expect. I figured the book was going to be really bad or just okay. Imagine my surprise when I read the book in two sittings and only put the book down for dinner at my Uncle’s.

The Girl She Used to Be tells the story of Melody Grace McCartney, a twenty-six-year-old federal witness in the case against the head of the Bovaro mafia. Melody, now Sandra Clarke, is alone in the world and bored out of her mind as a math teacher is small town America. So she packs a bag, calls her WITSEC agent, and tells them she’s been found.

Little does she realize that Jonathan Bovaro, son of the mafia head and the one charged with wiping out this federal witness, is actually hot on her trail.  And just before Melody becomes Michelle, Jonathan snaps her up and tells her he has a plan to keep her safe.

I loved this novel. I feel like it’s nothing I’ve ever read before, and the plot is fresh with plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader engaged. The pages flew by, and before I knew it The Girl She Used to Be was over. The writing is absolutely gorgeous and intelligent — perfectly suited for each part of the plot — and loved the characters. Jonathan is not your average mafia man and it’s so easy to fall in love with him, and Melody is completely believable for the situation she’s been thrown in.

I loved this book. It’s slipped under my skin, and I just can’t seem to shake this plotline. Hopefully, this first-time novelist will continue his success with his next novel, which I’ll be sure to snap up as soon as it’s available.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Cristofano, David. The Girl She Used to Be. New York: Grand Central Pub., 2009. Print. 284 pgs. ISBN: 9780446582223. Source: Library.
Book Cover © Grand Central. Retrieved: July 7, 2009.
One thought on “The Girl She Used to Be by David Cristofano

Leave a Reply

