You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 21, 2009.

BloggiestaFirst of all, thanks to Natasha of Maw Books Blog for hosting the Bloggiesta (¡Ole!)! It was a wonderful idea that helped me accomplish quite a bit for my blog, even though, at first, I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do.

Timetables:

I goofed and began the Bloggiesta at 6 a.m. my time; we were supposed to start at 8 a.m, but because I started early, I put a large sticky note on my computer saying “Stop at SIX” to remind me not to squeeze in another two hours.

That said, here’s my timecard for the event:

  • Began the Bloggiesta at 6 a.m. on Friday
  • Stopped at 8:45 for breakfast and to help clean out my brother’s room
  • Began again at 10:15
  • Stopped at 11:15 for lunch
  • Began again at 12:30 p.m.
  • Stopped at 3:00 to go see “Up,” which was fabulous.
  • Began again at 8:00
  • Stopped at 11:00 for bed
  • Began at 6:30 a.m. on Saturday
  • Stopped at 8 a.m. to drive my brother to camp
  • Began again at 6:00 p.m.
  • Stopped again at 11:00 for bed, and then I slept past my stop time until 6:23 a.m. on Sunday.

So, if my math is correct, I Bloggiesta-ed for fourteen hours and forty-five minutes, which was just three hours and fifteen minutes short of my eighteen-hour goal. Pretty good considering that when I signed up, I didn’t know I would be driving my brother to camp yesterday.

Bloggiesta To-Do-List:

  • Write reviews for those books I need to review:
  • Participate in weekly memes:
  • Get caught up on Booking Through Thursday questions
  • Write The Sunday Salon post for a rainy day
    • Post covers upcoming books-to-movies. (Some of you may have already seen it since I actually posted it instead of scheduling it.)
  • Write post about “Political Science Fiction” seminar class
    • Not a whole post, but I’m waiting to write something more in-depth when I’m actually in the class.
  • Update TBR List
    • Removed the sixteen books I’ve read
    • Added twenty-three more
  • Update Challenge page
  • Fix broken links and/or links to old blog
    • I’m afraid that this is such a massive undertaking, it needs it’s own Bloggiesta to get done.
  • Post book review URLs on challenge blogs
    • 1% Well-Read
    • 9 For 09
    • A to Z
    • Chunkster
    • Classics
    • Dewey’s Books
    • Diversity Rocks!
    • Read Your Own Books
    • Read Your Own Name
    • Scott Westerfeld
    • Spring Reading Thing
    • To Be Read
    • War Through the Generations
    • What’s In a Name?
  • Create a blogroll/links page
  • Check out different themes for the blog
    • Found another I liked, but the repeated authors tag takes up too much space on the side and I would have to make a new header for the blog. So for now, I’m sticking with the one I have.
  • Figure out where to move repeated authors tag cloud since it has ballooned into something bigger than I expected
    • Unfortunately, it’s going to have to stay where it is. Every where else I move it squeezes it so much that the text gets all jumbled up.
  • Type up giant giveaway post for July 1st
    • I made the database of books in Excel, but now I need to upload it to Google Spreadsheets and flesh out the details for the post.
  • Find new selections for Dewey’s Books Challenge
  • Comment on every blog I follow
    • I’ve probably most proud of this. I’m the world’s worst commenter, so this was a great way to comment on all 40 book blogs I follow.
  • Reorganize Google Reader
    • I weeded my reader down from 89 book blogs to 40 that I really enjoy reading and have similar tastes to myself. Some of these blogs also hadn’t been updated since December of 2008.
    • The Book Lady’s Mini-Challenge helped me with this one.

Read the rest of this entry »

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Archives

Currently Reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers