The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

NotebookA thirty-one, Noah Calhoun, back in coastal North Carolina after World War II, is haunted by images of the girl he lost more than a decade earlier. At twenty-nine, socialite Allie Nelson is about to marry a wealthy lawyer, but she cannot stop thinking about the boy who long ago stole her heart. The story of their lives in captured in a notebook and read everyday to one woman by a man named Duke in hopes that she will remember.

I haven’t enjoyed the last couple of Nicholas Sparks’ books I’ve read, so I wanted to return to the book that got me hooked on him to begin with — The Notebook. Truth be told, it’s pretty sappy, but it’s also unbelievably romantic and makes me cry every time I read it. I love how I can just slip into the story from the moment I crack open the cover, how there are those little things Sparks tells you that shows how truly and utterly in love they are with one another.

Book Mentioned:

  • Sparks, Nicholas. The Notebook. New York: Warner, 2004. Print. 240 pgs. ISBN: 9780446605236. Source: Purchased.
Book Cover © Warner Books. Retrieved: May 27, 2009.
3 thoughts on “The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

  1. I’ve only read two Sparks books, but I loved this one so much I read it twice. For some reason I have no desire to read any more (the other was Walk to Remember), but I’ll always return to this one. Makes me cry everytime, too! Have you seen the movie?

  2. @ Trish: Love the movie; maybe a tiny bit more than the book. I hated A Walk to Remember, but really liked that movie; although the two are vastly different.

  3. Ahh, I don’t like reading books that make me cry. :/ And Rachel McAdams seems to be the go-to girl when it comes to romance movies with sad endings. The Time Traveller’s Wife, anyone?

Leave a Reply

