Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Pride and PrejudiceAfter reading quite a few sequels and spinoffs, I needed to return to the original and clean my brain out off all the plaque that comes from reading poorly written sequels. Pride and Prejudice, once again, didn’t disappoint.

I’m sure you’ve already heard the story before; the five Bennet sisters – Jane, Elizabeth, Mary, Kitty, and Lydia – all attempt to find a husband under the ever annoying encouragement of their mother. Elizabeth suitors include her cousin, William Collins, but it’s Mr. Darcy who eventually captures her heart after a long and rocky road.

One of things I love about Pride and Prejudice is the fact that no matter how many times I read it, I still get swept away by the story; I still slip into the story. In the beginning, I still believe Darcy to be haughty, while I think Elizabeth is completely charming, and when he proposes, my heart sinks to the pit of my stomach. Austen is wonderful at character development, knowing how to build our hatred to some characters and write others in a way that makes their actions completely justified in the long-run.

And I love her wit and her style of writing. Pride and Prejudice is one of the easiest 19th century novels to read because while most old texts are dry and hard to read, this one is completely understandable. It’s definitely my favorite of Austen’s novels.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. Ann Arbor, MI: Borders Classics, 2006. Originally published 1813. Print. 314 pgs. ISBN: 9781587265150 Source: Purchased.
Book Cover © Boarders Classics. Photographed by me. Taken: May 20, 2009.
4 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

  1. I find I can sink into all of Jane Austen’s books, as though I’m reading them for the first time, which is really such a lovely gift. I like all of her books, but P&P is absolutely my favorite of them all. I love the characters, I love the humor, I love the romance. It’s a book I want to both hug AND take out for a martini!

  2. I was really surprised at how easy this book was to get into as well. Maybe because the theme has been done so many times in popular culture that it has become so familiar. One of these days I’ll re-read it, but I’d like to read the rest of her novels first.

Leave a Reply

