Sunday Salon: Plans

Yesterday, in between UIL competitions and a friend’s birthday party, I stopped by Borders and picked up a copy of The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. When I finally made it to the checkout counter with Dorian Gray, I had forced myself to put down Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell, Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, and Mansfield Park by Jane Austen. My wallet was already wincing at the cost of Dorian Gray, but it’s a necessary cost since it’s for school and all. Or so I tell myself.

dsc_00031

Right now, I’m reading four books at the same time – my currently reading widgit isn’t exactly up-to-date – and I have quite a few more on my shelf raring to go.

  • Crime and Punishment {Fyodor Dostoyevsky} –  I found Crime and Punishment on my bookshelf at home after I spent twenty minutes at Borders debating over whether or not to buy it. The plot line sounds is so intriguing.
  • Frankenstein {Mary Shelley} – I’ll have this one done by this afternoon, so look for the review sometime today or tomorrow.
  • Island of the Blue Dolphins {Scott O’Dell} – This one has been on my shelf forever, and counts for both the Read Your Own Name and To-Be-Read Challenges. It’s only 181 pages; so I know once I open it, I’ll be able to whiz right through it.
  • Never Let Me Go {Kazuo Ishiguro} – I’ve started Never Let Me Go, but so far I’m not impressed. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it, though.
  • Salem Falls {Jodi Picoult} – A reread of my favorite Picoult book to date. I decided to pick it back up after I spent a fair amount of time discussing Picoult’s novels with a girl in my Environmental Science class last Thursday and Friday.
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray {Oscar Wilde} – Another book for school, which I’ll start after I finish Frankenstein. Sounds interesting.
  • The Senator’s Wife {Sue Miller} – Started but hasn’t grabbed my attention yet.
  • Dreams From My Father {Barack Obama} – Another book I’ve started that hasn’t grabbed my attention yet. A shame since I was so interested in reading it.

The Sunday Salon:

The Sunday Salon.com The Sunday Salon encourages bloggers to get together –at their separate desks, in their own particular time zones– every Sunday and read. And blog about their reading. And comment on each other’s blogs. Salon participants are encouraged to blog about their time spent reading, pages read, information about current reading, discuss a reaction to a book, state what they plan to read the following week, or make suggestions for a group read.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Plans

  1. I read Island of Blue Dolphins last week, after hearing so many people rave about it. I thought it was a beautiful book and I wish I had read it as a child. It is definitely a quick read. I have reviewed it on my blog. I hope you enjoy it too.

    • @ Debbie: I’m tempted to let Never Let Me Go go, {That’s sounds funny…} and I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one. I just don’t get why everyone is in raptures over it.

  2. “Island of the Blue Dolphins” is a quick read and a good one. You should enjoy it.

    As for “The Picture of Dorian Gray”…it’s one of my absolute favorites. Surprisingly witty, with a great social commentary, and, of course, a very intriguing, innovative plot. I’m eager to read your review when you’re finished.

Leave a Reply

