Weekly Geeks: The Classics

weekly-geeksI’ve been meaning to participate in Weekly Geeks almost as long as it’s been around, but by the time I formulate an answer to this week’s question it’s time to answer the next one. I had almost given up on joining in, however, I’ve been thinking a lot about the classics lately after a conversation with my fellow bookworm, Melissa, so I couldn’t pass this one up.

“How do you feel about classic literature? Are you intimidated by it? Love it? Not sure because you never actually tried it? Don’t get why anyone reads anything else? Which classics, if any, have you truly loved? Which would you recommend for someone who has very little experience reading older books? Go all out, sell us on it!”

It’s always starting the classics that intimidate me. Once I’ve gotten past the first twenty or so pages I’m fine, but actually convincing myself to pick them up and read them scares me. I’m currently in the middle of Frankenstein by Mary Shelley thanks to my English class. This year I read Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy thanks to my English class, but I picked up Persuasion by Jane Austen all by myself. Last year I read The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert, and Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë.

Tess of the d’Ubervilles is probably one of the easiest classics I’ve ever read despite being incredibly sad, so out of all the ones above I’d recommend it to someone who has little experience with the classics. And, of course, I’d recommend any of Jane Austen’s novels, especially Pride and Prejudice.

“As you explore the other Weekly Geeks posts: Did any inspire you to want to read a book you’ve never read before-or reread one to give it another chance? Tell us all about it, including a link to the post or posts that sparked your interest. If you end up reading the book, be sure to include a link to your post about it in a future Weekly Geeks post!”

Lynda, Chris, and Stephanie all inspired me to finally check out The Tenent of Whitfield Hall by Anne Brontë, Becky has me excited about Frankenstein, and Iliana reminded me to find my copy of Emma by Jane Austen.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks: The Classics

Leave a Reply

