“Murder in the Cathedral” by T.S. Eliot

murder-in-the-cathedralThree Priests discuss the major issue of the play: the differences between temporal (i.e., worldly) and spiritual power The Third Pnest claims that, “King rules or barons rule” and that politicians “have but one law, to seize the power and keep it.” The First Priest hopes that the Chorus has not become too jaded and hopes that they will realize that they have a “friend” in “their Father in God.” (Clearly, the populace and their religious leaders are living in spiritually trying times.)

I do much better when I can see a play rather than read it, and “Murder in the Cathedral” is one I definitely needed to see. In fact, Eliot’s play was one of the harder plays for me to read, and I think it would have helped if I had at least listened to it on tape because then I could hear the different voices.

As is it, Murder in the Cathedral was hard to visualize, and I spent most of my time being lost in the language rather than the plot. I finished it and immediately asked, “okay…what happened?”. I guess it’s just another play I need to see rather than read.

Book Mentioned:

  • Eliot, T.S. “Murder in the Cathedral”. New York: Harcourt, 1964. Originally published 1935. Print. 96 pgs. ISBN: 9780156632775. Source: Borrowed.
Book Cover © Harcourt. Retrieved: December 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

