You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 6, 2008.

So, it’s my birthday today. (Please, no applause.) But it’s inspiring today’s question-

What, if any, memorable or special book have you ever gotten as a present? Birthday or otherwise. What made it so notable? The person who gave it? The book itself? The “gift aura?”

I received Little Women from my mom when I turned ten. This beautiful hardback edition with a wonderful illustration on the cover. And, as a result, I wanted to be Jo so bad it’s not even funny. I received the box set of Little House on the Prairie when I was five. I read all the books and I still love them. I’m not sure what made them notable, maybe it was my mom gifting them to me. Or, maybe, it was the book itself.

Although, looking back, I’m know why my mom gave them these books. She wanted me to be like the characters in them.

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Currently Reading

Popular Posts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers