You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 8, 2008.

picture-perfectCassie Barrett, a renowned anthropologist, and Alex Rivers, one of Hollywood’s hottest actors, met on the set of a motion picture in Africa. They shared childhood tales, toasted the future, and declared their love in a fairy-tale wedding. But when they return to California, something altered the picture of their perfect marriage. A frightening pattern took shape –a cycle of hurt, denial, and promises, thinly veiled by glamor. Torn between fear and something that resembled love, Cassie wrestled with questions she never dreamed she would face: How could she leave? Then again, how could she stay?”

I tried really hard to like this book. I usually love Picoult’s books but I had a hard time getting through this one. I did like her use of Indian folklore as a background but I felt like it could have been explored more, that Will’s life was more interesting. However, I didn’t have any connection to the characters. I wasn’t pulled in like I am in any other book of hers I’ve read. The kick in the gut at the end wasn’t there, although some might say there is nothing wrong with that.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Picoult, Jodi. Picture Perfect. New York: Berkley, 2002. Print. 384 pgs. ISBN: 9780425185506. Source: Gift.
Book Cover ©  Berkley Books. Retrieved: May 8, 2008.

“Writing guides, grammar books, punctuation how-tos . . . do you read them? Not read them? How many writing books, grammar books, dictionaries–if any–do you have in your library?”

I have two. My mom bought then for me so that I may know how to get published and improve my writing.

Do I read them?

No.

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Currently Reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers