The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

This is the story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby, his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, and its tragic culmination.

The Great Gatsby is supposed to be the great American classic but I was surprised to find that the “great American classic” is about adultery, wild parties, and murder. However, I did enjoy Fitzgerald’s frank characters that were easy to understand and relate to.

“People disappeared, reappeared, made plans to go somewhere, and then lost each other, searched for each other, found each other a few feet away.” (pg. 41)

The Great Gatsby was required reading for my junior English class this year and while I finally managed to get into the novel towards the end, it certainly is not one my favorites. Yet, as far as required reading goes, this is by far one of the best, shortest, and easiest books my school has chosen for us to read.

Others’ Thoughts:

Book Mentioned:

  • Fitzgerald, F. Scott. The Great Gatsby. New York: Scribner, 2004. Originally published 1924. Print. 180 pgs. ISBN: 9780743273565. Source: Purchased.
Book Cover © Scribner. Retrieved: May 8, 2012.

 

2 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

  1. The Great Gatsby is one of my very favorites. I think what attracts me to it is the unfulfilled longings that Gatsby has about his past. It just gets to me somehow!

  2. The Great Gatsby was an amazing book. Once I started reading it I never wanted to put it down. I love the story line of how Gatsby wont let go of his true feelings. Amazing book!!

Leave a Reply

